Tuesday, October 11, 2011

October 11, 2011 MUS Submits McGuffin, Davidson, and Sluder to Mayor Thomas for Selection of One as Nominee for MUS Board

The MUS (Morristown Utility Systems) Board of Commissioners met this morning in an "emergency" meeting to pick a slate of three names to submit to Morristown Mayor Danny Thomas to fill the expired term of George McGuffin. 

Acting according to the MUS Private Act, Thomas will submit one of the three MUS-provided names to the full council for approval or disapproval at the next meeting of City Council on October 18th.

At today's MUS meeting, Max Biery suggested George McGuffin, Mike Davidson, and John Stroud. Gene Jolley mentioned Alan Silver in place of John Stroud. Lynn Elkins then put Bruce Sluder's name in the mix, and Harold Nichols quickly voiced his support for Sluder. 

Elkins made a motion to submit the names of  George McGuffin, Mike Davidson, and Bruce Sluder to Mayor Thomas, and the vote by the MUS Board was unanimous.

At the October 18th council meeting, Mayor Thomas will nominate one (of the MUS three) to council approval or disapproval.  All FIVE previous mayoral nominees---Mike Minnich,  Glenn Thompson, Carroll Fowler, Wally Long, John Allen--have been rejected by council. Why? None of them were  George McGuffin.

So, unless George McGuffin voluntarily bows out and releases the LeBel Five to vote for someone else, we may be looking at the SIXTH rejection of a good and highly qualified person simply because that person is not George McGuffin and, therefore, is unacceptable to the LeBel Five. 

MUS Chairman George McGuffin did not come to today's MUS meeting. Harold Nichols presided.

No comments: