Tuesday, May 07, 2013

May 7, 2013 Election Day in the City of Morristown

The polls are open from 8 am - 8 pm.

If you are unsure where your voting precinct is located, the Election Commission (586-7169) can help.

If you missed getting by to see the sign with Kay Senter's "accomplishments" on City Council during the past 20 years, it has been moved now, but it can still be seen here.

Moving Morristown Forward (MMF)--which lists John Stroud and George Haggard as members--has been pushing hard for the team of Senter, Garrett, and Chesney.

Stroud is listed as secretary to the Industrial Board of the City of Morristown.  The first time I saw him was at a city council meeting in 2011 where he worked himself into a frenzy as he accused the Mayor of being a "dictator." 

Haggard, in addition to being the main contributor to Moving Morristown Forward, doubles as Chesney's campaign treasurer.

Chesney has VERY carefully avoided dealing with the fact that he was just elected to the School Board nine months ago and now he has decided he wants ANOTHER ELECTED OFFICE as a City Councilman.

Chesney wasn't the first choice of Tim and David Wild, but he was willing to step in and run when the Wilds' first pick--Dr. Sid Boyd--backed out.

Garrett worked with the water department at Morristown Utilities for four decades before his election to council in 2009.  In 2011 and 2012, Garrett voted against 21 people nominated to the MUC Board by the Mayor and then supported the "McGuffin Law" that changed the MUC appointment process without letting the people vote on the changes.

For $250, Garrett, Senter, LeBel, Bivens, and Jinks could have let the people have a voice and a vote in 2012 on the controversial MUC issue, but they all said "NO." 

No comments: