Sunday, August 28, 2011

August 28, 2011 MUS Board Puts Carroll Fowler on the List of Candidates for MUS Commissioner. Refuses To Allow Meeting To Be Videotaped.

The MUS Board of Commissioners met Thursday, August 25, at the MUS Office on Main Street.

One agenda item was the submission of another list of three names to Morristown Mayor Danny Thomas from which Thomas will again (third time) nominate one to council for a position on the MUS Board of Commissioners. 

MUS is sending the names of George McGuffin, Wally Long, and Carroll Fowler to the Mayor for consideration this time.

[George, Wally, and Glenn Thompson were on the last list. Mayor Thomas nominated Thompson but council voted "NO."   See video here.  George and Wally are back on the list, and Carroll Fowler has been added.]

The MUS Board would not allow the meeting to be videotaped with a very small hand-held flip camera. No reason was given.

Board members are George McGuffin, Harold Nichols, Gene Jolley, Lynn Elkins, and Max Biery. Gene Jolley was the most vocal opponent of allowing the meeting to be filmed.   

City Councilman Bob Garrett, a former and longtime employee of MUS, attended. Garrett, an MUS retiree, is a leader and voting member of council's "only George" club.

MUS Attorney Dick Jessee, who is also attorney for the City of Morristown, was present. Jessee is George McGuffin's brother-in-law.

No comments: