Monday, November 14, 2011

November 14, 2011 MUS: McGuffin, Isaacs, and Kennerly Nominated

The Morristown Utilities Commission Board, minus Chairman George McGuffin, met this morning.  

In a brief meeting, the MUC Board voted to send the names of Jerry Isaacs, Jack Kennerly, and George McGuffin to Mayor Danny Thomas for his selection of one name to submit to the council for approval or disapproval.

Thus far, the City Council has rejected all seven of the Mayor's nominees: Mike Minnich, Glenn Thompson, Carroll Fowler, Wally Long, John Allen, Mike Davidson, and Bruce Sluder.

Vice Chairman Harold Nichols presided yesterday and commented at one point that he was about to run out of names.

MUC Manager Jody Wigington read off the long list of rejectees, and no one even bothered to ask why councilmembers were rejecting local CPAs, engineers, plant managers, and sucessful businessmen.

No one had to ask. The reason for the rejections is all too clear. The only person is the city of Morristown who is acceptable to Council's Lebel Five (Paul LeBel, Kay Senter, Bob Garrett, Claude Jinks, and Chris Bivens) is George McGuffin.

Anyone else, no matter who it is, no matter how accomplished he or she is, is dead in the water.

Pictured (l-r): MUC Members Lynn Elkins; Max Biery; Gene Jolley; Harold Nichols;  MUC General Manager Jody Wigington; MUC Asst. General Manager/CFO Clark Rucker; Tribune Reporter.

No comments: