Wednesday, November 30, 2011

November 30, 2011 MUC: Ninth List of Commissioner Candidates--George McGuffin, Steve Henrikson, Gene Lynch

The Morristown Utility Commission (MUC) met yesterday and came up with its NINTH list of candidates for the MUC commission seat currently held by George McGuffin.

McGuffin is absolutely, positively determined to get re-appointed--even if it means asking the state legislature to overturn the 2001 CITY REFERENDUM in which the VOTERS approved the current appointment process as part of changes made to the MUC Private Act.

It is McGuffin's quest to retain his seat for another five years that recently prompted the LeBel Five (Councilmembers Paul LeBel, Kay Senter, Bob Garrett, Chris Bivens, and Claude Jinks) to try an end-run around the 2001 REFERENDUM

The LeBel Five voted on November 15 to ask State Representative Don Miller and State Senator Steve Southerland to carry legislation changing the MUC appointment process that was put in place by the VOTERS in the 2001 REFERENDUM.

In the video, McGuffin is chairing the MUC meeting and is at the head of the table.

The NINTH slate of candidates for the Mayor's consideration are: George McGuffin, Steve Henrikson, and Gene Lynch.

From the list submitted by MUC, Mayor Thomas will select one name to present to the City Council for approval or disapproval on December 6. Councilmembers Paul LeBel, Kay Senter, Bob Garrett, and Chris Bivens have thus far rejected all EIGHT of the Mayor's previous nominees.

Councilmember Claude Jinks voted for the Mayor's first recommendation (Mike Minnich) and then quickly joined with the LeBel group to reject the next seven people. Claude's daughter-in-law Jackie Jinks works at MUC. Councilmember Bob Garrett worked at MUC for decades.

The individuals who have been disapproved by LeBel and Company: Mike Minnich, Glenn Thompson, Carroll Fowler, Wally Long, John Allen, Mike Davidson, Bruce Sluder, and Jerry Isaacs.

LeBel and Company have declared that it doesn't matter whose name is submitted by the Mayor---only George McGuffin will get their vote of approval.

Over the past several months, George could have graciously stepped aside at any time so a new commissioner could be appointed. Instead, George has kept pushing and allowing his name to be included on each MUC list.

Now, the LeBel Five have decided that THEY know what appointment process is best. The LeBel Five have decided that the current process that was put in place BY THE VOTERS should be overturned BY THE LEBEL FIVE with the assistance of Miller and Southerland. Why? So George McGuffin can continue his reign on the MUC Board.

NOTE: Jack Kennerly, who was on the previous list presented to the Mayor by MUC, was not included this time. Councilman Gene Brooks questioned Jerry Isaacs' and Kennerly's eligibility at the Nov. 15 council meeting, noting that Isaacs already serves on the Board of the Morristown Housing Authority and that Kennerly serves on the Morristown Planning Commission. City Attorney Dick Jessee responded that in his opinion joint service on the Morristown Housing Authority and MUC does not violate the MUC Private Act but joint service on the Morristown Planning Commission and MUC would be a "closer call."  Click here for the post and video segment on the Nov. 15 meeting. Jessee is also the MUC attorney. Apparently, Jessee put on his MUC attorney hat before yesterday's MUC meeting and advised the MUC Commissioners, including brother-in-law George McGuffin, that Kennerly is ineligible to serve on the MUC Board and, thus, shouldn't have been nominated by MUC the first time and shouldn't be put back on the new list. 

Click here for the exchange between Brooks and Jessee as Brooks asks whether Jessee is wearing his "City Attorney" hat or his "MUC Attorney" hat when Jessee offers opinions on Isaacs and Kennerly and actions taken by his client MUC.

No comments: