Thursday, January 24, 2013

January 24, 2013 Wayne NeSmith Appointed To County Commission Seat Vacated by State Rep. Tilman Goins

The Hamblen County Commission appointed Wayne NeSmith to the District 4 Commission seat earlier this afternoon.

The vote was 10 votes for NeSmith and 2 votes for Darrell Williams, a member of the Downtown Merchants Association. Williams previously ran for an at-large City Council seat in 2011. [Paul LeBel won that council seat by about 24 votes over Charles Cook with Williams and Luke Pack coming in a distant third and fourth respectfully.]

NeSmith replaces Tilman Goins who was elected to the county commission in 2010 and resigned in December 2012 after his November 6 election to the State House of Representatives. Goins defeated former State Rep. Don Miller in a stunning victory in the 2012 Republican primary. Goins was officially elected State Representative in the November General Election without Democrat opposition. Click here.

NeSmith has lived in Morristown/Hamblen County almost all his life and was a strong Goins supporter in the State House of Representatives race. NeSmith will fill out the remainder of Goins' term which expires in August 2014.  All commission seats will be up for election in 2014.

Voting for NeSmith were Larry Baker, Larry Carter, Tim Dennison, Rick Eldredge, Stancil Ford, Tim Goins, Herbert Harville, Nancy Phillips, Howard Shipley, and Dana Wampler.

Voting for Williams were Doe Jarvis and Doyle Fullington.

Not present was Paul LeBel.

No comments: